what rachel did white

What Rachel Did

Ava Kirkland knows three things for certain: One, Bradley will always be her BFF. Two, science is the best subject ever. Three, ghosts don't exist. Two out of three ain't bad.
Twenty years ago, Mosley Manor was left abandoned. The haunted house of White's Chapel, Tennessee, has become the local dare—the place kids sneak to see if they are brave enough to go inside. Ava isn't scared of Mosley Manor in the slightest. She believes in facts.
According to her, anyone who is scared of Mosley Manor should be ashamed. Unless that person is her best friend, Bradley. He gets a free pass because he's, well, he's been terrified of the house as long as Ava has known him. In fact, he was originally the person who told her about the house and all the ghosts inside.
Unfortunately for Ava, her parents decide to buy their first house (YAY!), and it ends up being Mosley Manor (no...). Ava isn't afraid of the place, just not happy about leaving her old rental house next to her BFF. It's also not wonderful that it's the only thing anyone at school wants to talk about.
Ava's brother starts acting even weirder than normal, Mama and Daddy never used to fight like this, and by golly, those upstairs doors have minds of their own.
Ava may not believe in ghosts, but they certainly believe in her.
For fans of The Graveyard Book and Coraline by Neil Gaiman and The Goosebumps series by R.L. Stine.

PRAISE

Review

"WOW...For a middle grade read, it for sure scared the living daylights out of me!!!" - Jenny, Black Words-White Pages

"Even though this is a middle-grade novel, I really enjoyed it. I'm an author who loves to write and read anything paranormal and ghostly, so this was right up my alley." - Janae, Goodreads Reviewer

"This is a great story for younger kids that want something creepy/scary but not necessarily nightmare inducing. The Goosebumps series and the Fear Street series come to mind for comparison." - Kindle Customer

"Short, sweet, and scary - I would recommend this book as the perfect bedtime story, so long as you don't sleep near an attic and you don't mind a few spooky ghosts haunting your dreams!" - Kristiana Sfirlea, author of Legend of the Storm Sneezer

"Just devoured this awesome read by Kelly Martin." - Louisa, Goodreads Reviewer

"I loved this story. It was fun. It was scary. This story is well written and reminds us about the importance of friendship and loyalty. It also shows how decisions can and will affect others and how long lasting the affects can be. A shout out to the awesome ladies of Monster Ivy Publishing who know a good book when they find it." - Karin, Amazon Customer

"Kelly Martin never disappoints." - MischiefTravvy, Amazon Customer

"I loved this book so much!! Such a fun/scary story perfect for all ages. Ava is one brave girl! I think I'd be too chicken to step in Mosley Manor." - Sara Jo Cluff, author of The Kiss List & Daphne's Questionable Bet

"If you like to be spooked, but don't want to pee your pants, this book is for you! I don't think I could have lived in Mosley Manor at 12 years old, or as a grown adult. Ava is awesome, and so is Kelly Martin." - Jordan Thompson, author of What Lurks Below

"On par with Miss Martin's young adult works, What Rachel Did, kept me intrigued and a bit spooked. While I've read some middle grade stuff I still found myself expecting older teens only to be reminded they were 8-12 year olds. It followed a good plot line for haunted houses, as I'd come to expect from the mistress of haunted things, and I felt all the emotions that went along with every twist and turn. If my 12 year old son wasn't against female protagonists at this time, I'd have him read it too." - The Book Eclectic

SELECT FEATURED REVIEWS

★★★★★  By Lynn, 2 Girls & A Book

What Rachel did is Amityville horror for 12-year-olds! This tween thriller left this adult reader feeling haunted and slack-jawed. A gruesome ghost story that is sure to become a horror classic.

★★★★★  By Angela Schroeder

My kids absolutely loved this book. As soon as my 10 year old finished it my 19 year old daughter who is a huge RL Stine fan picked it up and didn't put it down again until she she finished it. She is excitedly waiting for the next book from this author.

★★★★★  By G., age 11

This is a great book and I’ll definitely read it again. The ending was kinda scary until I figured out how it would go, but it was a great story. I liked Ava and her best friend — they had a good relationship.

★★★★★  By Crystal, 2 Girls & A Book

What a fun, spooky read! This is something you can read with your kids! I'd say 10 and up, unless they love a good scare. I absolutely enjoyed it even as an adult.

★★★★★  By Mary Beesley, author of Dragon Blood

This is so fun for any middle grade reader! It's well written and just the right amount of spine-tingling fun.

ADDITIONAL DETAILS

ISBN: 978-1948095525

Release date: March 3, 2020

Page count: 172

Genre: Middle Grade horror

Tropes: Best friends, family disconnect, Ghosts, Haunted house

Monster Ivy Publishing

Houston, TX

Socials

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • Pinterest

© 2020 by Monster Ivy Publishing