Harper

Harper

by Jo Cassidy

After the war of 2098, the United States is a chaotic mess. Terrorism abounds, and the government isn’t doing a very good job of keeping the people safe.

 

Dogwood Protection Services, DPS, takes matters into their own hands. Using the best technology and agents, they track down and stop terrorists before they can do their damage.

Sixteen-year-old Harper Chandler is one of DPS’s biggest assets. She’s small, nimble, cunning, and willing to break a few laws to stop an attack. Like breaking into a classmate’s house where he catches her, almost blowing the vigilante operation wide open.

 

In order to keep things under wraps, Harper is forced to get close to Akiro—who just so happens to be extremely hot and very into Harper. As she and Akiro grow closer, Harper must continue to spy on his father to figure out why he keeps showing up in the DPS database, all while working a stalker case for the most powerful woman in San Diego.

 

As she draws nearer to answers, Harper realizes the stalker will stop at nothing to keep her from uncovering the catastrophic truth.

 

If Harper can’t piece everything together in time, lives—and her relationship with Akiro—will be lost.

For fans of Batman and Marie Lu.

PRAISE

Review

"Harper is a book I definitely think young female readers would REALLY enjoy! The MC is snarky, can kick butt, and has a strong love for her family." - Laura, author of Dear Author: Letters from a Bookish Fangirl

"This is the first book written by Jo Cassidy that I have read and I must say I enjoyed it very much and look forward to reading more. I do hope that this is not the last we see of Harper and her rag tag group of friends.  i love how she is proud of her humble background, her father has a knack for fixing things, her mother is ill and will likely never get better, but Harper loves them and appreciates the time she has with them." - Kreidoct09, Amazon

"This book was so much fun to read! I loved Harper's loyalty to her family and ability to take down the "bad guys." Akiro was my favorite! If you enjoy sass, action, and romance, Harper is for you!" - V. Romas Burton, author of Heartmender

"Once I started, I couldn’t stop! I felt like I could connect and relate with the characters, even though the setting is in the very distant future. I hope this will be a series as there are many unanswered questions!" - Tiffany, Amazon

"This book has everything I love in a novel -- a strong heroine, danger around every corner, and clever dialogue that sometimes made me laugh. Harper's scenes with handsome Akiro are really sweet -- that is, when she isn't fighting her attraction to him. I've loved all of Jo Cassidy's novels, but this one stands out as my absolute favorite. I know I'll be reading it many times. Once is definitely not enough." - Janet, Goodreads

"This book showed me to “Stay on Mission”. I can do this by following my gut and listening to the people that know what’s best for me." - Ella, Goodreads

"There is a lot to like about Harper, the book and the character. It's a fun read, and Harper - the character - is on my list of favorites. I love the details Jo gives her characters. I'm in for Harper 2." - Steven, Goodreads

Loved reading this book. The characters are believable and fun. I loved the banter-romance between Harper and Akiro. Most of the scenes had me laughing out loud. The action and mystery kept me reading way past my bedtime. It's a must read. I also loved that it was a clean, uplifting book." - Kim, Goodreads

SELECT FEATURED REVIEWS

★★★★★  By Steve, Amazon
I needed something to read for when I had some spare time and had this suggested to me. It was going to be one of those books I pick up on occasion as time permitted ... Once I started reading it though, it sucked me in and I finished it in one weekend. Which is unusual for me. It's been a long time since that's happened. It's a good read! 

★★★★★  By Tech Girl, Amazon

I can honestly say I was sad when this book ended because I love the characters and want to keep adventuring with them. So Jo if you read this I would love more Harper stories! Really enjoyed this book! Jo has a talent for writing and I am so glad I found it. This will be one of my favorites!

★★★★★  By Karin, Amazon

Harper sucks you into her life and carries you along on her adventures. Was worth missing a night's sleep.

★★★★★  By Squitoey, Amazon

Love love loved this book! Great characters. Intriguing plot line. Mystery. Romance. Danger. *sigh* So... when does the sequel come out?!?

★★★★★  By Nathaniel, @hecticreadinglife, Instagram

If I could send one book to every sci-fi reader in the world, I think I would choose this one. Not because it's complex, not because it's a masterpiece, but because this book is one probably the most fun I've had with a light sci-fi book for months. I loved the characters, the plot, the world, and the overall tone of this book. All of it was pulled off so well. I definitely need to check out more from Jo Cassidy. She is one of my new favourite authors.

ADDITIONAL DETAILS

ISBN: 978-1948095389

Release date: August 5, 2019

Page count: 332

Genre: YA Light Sci-Fi

Tropes: Spy, Futuristic Thriller, Snarky protagonist

Monster Ivy Publishing

Houston, TX

Socials

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • Pinterest

© 2020 by Monster Ivy Publishing